Print Page | Close Window

Why is it wrong to give a line reading?

Printed From: Community Theater Green Room
Category: Producing Theater
Forum Name: Directing
Forum Discription: For questions about handling shows, actors, crew, board members, children ...or do we repeat ourselves?
URL: http://www.communitytheater.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4919
Printed Date: 4/27/24 at 2:18pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 8.05 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Why is it wrong to give a line reading?
Posted By: peacock
Subject: Why is it wrong to give a line reading?
Date Posted: 1/12/11 at 2:17am
I am an amateur director, never had any official acting classes. I have picked up from my readings that directors should never, ever give a line reading to an actor. My question is why? I work at an international school, and some of my students do not have the most fluent English. They would never get some lines right if someone doesn't help them.

Replies:
Posted By: jayzehr
Date Posted: 1/12/11 at 7:18am
I'd say just forget about any concern with giving line readings if you're directing non-native English speakers.

Posted By: Tallsor
Date Posted: 1/12/11 at 12:17pm
Peacock,

The 'don't give a line reading' is primarily because line reading denotes character. You want the actor to come up with his/her own approach to the part, and having a line interpreted one way versus another delves into that.

There have been times when I've given a line read when I know I want the character to go in a certain direction and other approaches (i.e., talks with the actor as to what result I'm hoping for) fail.

Posted By: Majicwrench
Date Posted: 1/12/11 at 12:25pm
Peacock,
  NO set rules as far as I am concerned. THis is theatre, not math.
 I give line reading to actors at times and see nothing wrong with it.
 Your fellow amateur,
           Keith

Posted By: edh915
Date Posted: 1/12/11 at 12:49pm