Forum Discription: For everything else
URL: http://www.communitytheater.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4784
Printed Date: 5/19/24 at 2:57am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 8.05 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Sawing a woman in half on stage
Posted By: jerseyactor
Subject: Sawing a woman in half on stage
Date Posted: 9/02/10 at 5:49pm

I have been directing a high school show for the past several years now, and last year two of the upcoming seniors asked if they could try their hand at writing this year's play.  They've worked hard all summer and it's quite a good script that we've had the go-ahead to produce.

They have grande ideas, of course, and I'm trying to figure out a way to stage some of the things they've written into the script.  Perhaps you guys can provide some suggestions.

One of the characters is a magician.  At one point, he is supposed to do the classic sawing in half of a beautiful woman.  Does anyone have any idea where we could come across (preferably to rent) one of those box-like contraptions used to saw people in half?  We have a considerable budget, so I'm not too concerned about cost.  I just have no idea where to go about finding one (if I even can find one.)

Does anyone know of an effective smoke machine that will provide a large "puff" of smoke as opposed to the fog-like smoke that streams out of most smoke machines?

Finally, any ideas on how to make a character "appear" onstage as if they have come out of thin air.  Yes, it has to do with that magician, again.  I have an idea, but maybe some of you have had to do something similar before.  For the record, we have no trap doors on the stage and the set will likely be one level, so there's no option of having someone come up from underneath the stage.